Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Harboring The Spirit of Jezebel by Apostle Robert Summers

Any of you been battling the spirit of Jezebel? I have discovered that I have been battling the spirit of Jezebel probably my entire life! I have not had the knowledge in hand to know what to do about it and have basically been running away or avoiding it in order to deal with it. This book written by Apostle Robert Summers is quite eye opening and is chock full of facts as well as his own personal testimonies he has written to expose this spirit. It has helped me become even more aware of the tactics of this spirit and how it works and who it works with. I have had and still have this book on my nightstand. I have read/digested it in sections to fully be able to get it. Before I ordered this book I was shown someone I was dealing with as being a host of Jezebel in one area of my life. In yet another area of my life I was shown yet another Jezebel host and given a vision of her as being a spider with a huge web, out to draw in whom she may. When after ordering the book and upon receiving it I saw on the front cover a picture of a spider in a web! Confirmation to me that I had heard right to get this very book. I was not let down when I began to read the pages between the covers. At the very end of the book the author has taken the time to write out prayers you can pray to be delivered of the spirit of Jezebel and her co-horts as well as prayers for basic deliverance. This book is Biblically sound and worth the read. I have read other books on the subject of the spirit of Jezebel but this one hands down is the best one I have found and the one that has helped me the most. I have also ordered and received other materials by Apostle Robert Summers and I intend to order more. I recommend this book HIGHLY as well as his other materials. Apostle Robert Summers has been anointed by the Lord and given much insight in many different areas which he has written about or preached about. What he shares bears witness to my spirit man leaving me wanting for more. “Harboring The Spirit of Jezebel” by Apostle Robert Summers is my book of the year. The one that has made the biggest impact in my life and has helped me the most in my walk with the Lord. May the Lord bless you in your own personal walk with the Lord and may you receive greater knowledge and wisdom as you become further empowered to do the will of the Lord in your own life! In Jesus name I pray, amen.

Thursday, October 16, 2014

My Breaking Point GOD'S Turning Point by Ricky Texada

This was an excellent read and one I highly recommend. The author Ricky Texada experienced unexpected loss in his life. Through the midst of the devastation Ricky found hope. He discovered that the loss he experienced was not the end, just the end of one chapter and that life does go on. I shared much of what I learned in this book with women from my bible study group. I encourage you, the reader to purchase this and read it as well. I imagine just about everyone could glean from the testimonies this author shares about how the Lord got him past his grief and on to joy in his future life. I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Bethany House publishers through their book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Monday, September 8, 2014

The Charles Schwab Guide to Finances After Fifty By Carrie Schwab-Pomerantz

This is an excellent resource book and guide to finances for any age group. It doesn't matter if you are just starting out or if you are planning on retiring there is information here for you! This is one of those books you will want to keep in your personal library to refer back to again and again. It is a hefty 396 page book. Covers many subjects which include: Life insurance, stocks and bonds, retirement accounts, charity contributions, disability insurance, social security and medicare to name a few. Would make a good wedding gift I am thinking! I am keeping my copy for my own personal library. I recommend this book! I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from the book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

The Power of Hope by Dutch Sheets

Dutch Sheets seems to have written this book for those battling depression and anxiety, two things I am not a stranger to unfortunately. This book is Biblically based and filled with many testimonies that Dutch shares. This is a good book. I like reading things Dutch Sheets writes. Two of my favorites of his are: The Pleasure of His Company Intercessory Prayer I recommend this book and this author. God bless all reading this! I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Charisma House through book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Monday, July 28, 2014

Debt-Proof Living by Mary Hunt

I have been a fan of Mary Hunt for a number of years. The first publications I became aware of and then did subscribe to was a monthly newsletter called “Cheapskate Monthly.” This most recent book of Mary Hunts is a wonderful little nugget of a book. Her goal is to teach others how to get out of debt and stay out of debt. She shares wonderful insights as to how to reach such goals. She is also quite transparent and shares how she herself made many mistakes in her personal finances before learning how to end all that foolishness and then to mature and learn how to get things all straightened out. I have read other books by different authors on the subject of getting out of debt and preparing for the future so you see I am really desiring to be set free in this area of finances. If you too are desiring to be set free from mismanaging your own finances and learning how to get things back on track then this book is for you! Mary has outlined a plan of action and steps you can take to get it all started. Since reading the book I have begun doing these steps. I have already obtained some financial freedom before this as have been chiseling away at my own debts. Some of the things she shared I already knew but it gave me confidence to see I was doing the right thing. Other things I had not heard of doing and so am glad for having gotten this book and for having read it. Lastly it is most important to not just read the book but to implement the things you have learned. I hope the best for you in your own personal journey of becoming debt free and in staying that way! I recommend this book. I received this book for free in exchange for a book review through the Revell Publishing book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Sharing Christ With The Dying by Melody Rossi

I am not a stranger of being alongside of someone I love while they lay in their death bed. I can tell you that if I'd of had this book in my hand it during those times that it would have made everything so much easier. Not only is there information about what signs to look for when your loved one is dying but there are also practical things mentioned which will be needed to know during such times as these. This book is going to be kept in my own personal library to be taken back off of the shelves in times of need. I also plan to loan it out to others who may be in this particular season. It would be best read when you are in a season of a loved one getting ready to pass on. I highly recommend it. I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review through the Bethany House publishers book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Sunday, July 6, 2014

People, Pigs & Principalities: The Reality and Power of the Supernatural in Your Life by Don Dickerman

This is a book written on the subject of Biblically based deliverance. Deliverance is something I have a personal interest and some experience in and I have not read a whole lot of books on this subject. The author, Don Dickerman, shares many testimonies about deliverance which I always love to read about. Don Dickerman also biblically backs what he shares. Don shares sound teachings written in a manner that is easy to digest. There were points made by the author that were eye-opening to me which explained how people end up getting hurt when stepping out in deliverance. Helped me to understand why I personally have gotten “into trouble” and for me it was out of ignorance. I believe many are doing things out of ignorance and things not Biblically based. Things need to line up with the Word of God. Reading this book has helped me see the error of my ways and I know it will help you as well. It is a good idea for all Christians to have some knowledge on this subject and then there are some who are called to be “specialists” in this field. Which are you? I wholly recommend this book to you! I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Charisma House Publishing through book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Monday, June 23, 2014

"Deliver Us From Evil" by Don Basham (1926-1989)

This book, “Deliver Us From Evil” by Don Basham (1926-1989) is not just a book of testimonies about is a text book to teach on this subject of deliverance. I say this because one can learn volumes by reading how the Lord moved in the life of Don Basham which caused him to enter into his calling as a minister of deliverance amongst other things. I love so many different things about this book. It is one of those “hard to put down” sort of books and why would you want to? This subject on deliverance is order for God's people to be set free to be who they are called to be in Christ Jesus. I believe that every single believer ought to know about and be able to move/minister in deliverance. I do believe some are specifically called to be deliverance specialists so to speak, for lack of a better word. I loved how Don Basham shares how he tried not to talk on the subject of demons/deliverance because it would end up causing him troubles. This made me laugh out loud as I can relate! He found that even though he would try to keep his mouth shut on this subject, that people would still bring it up before him, showing him that this was indeed something the Lord had very much on His mind regarding ministry for Don Basham. Don had so many experiences and I am most appreciative that he wrote these testimonies out and a book was produced. I can't tell you how thankful I am for this and to the Lord for bringing this to light. The subject of deliverance/demons infesting God's not a popular one around most conservative Christian tables and will find that almost everyone has a need for it. I have personally had similar experiences and testimonies as Don has had. It seems the ones who come down the hardest on the subject of deliverance and Christians having demons are the very ones who need deliverance. It was the Holy Spirit who brought all of this up to my own attention. One evening after praying for a woman during a meeting in my own home...and she received one was more surprised then I was. Another woman came up then asking if I would do deliverance on her. I told her I had not been trained and knew this could be dangerous. That night then after all had gone home I had prayed, “Lord...please show me what my gifts are and teach me how to use them.” Before I knew it...I was being led to attend a conference on deliverance and it was confirmed so clearly that I knew it was of the Lord. One thing always seems to lead to another. If you have an interest in this subject or are already involved in it then I suggest you get this book and feast on it. You won't be sorry. Even if you are a novice on deliverance I believe there are some things you will glean from it. I personally am thankful for this reminder of at least one thing I know I am called to do. This book brought me that reminder as well as confirmation to that fact. I am waking back up to get back on track in this area. Looking inward as well for anything that may be found lurking about to try to prevent me from moving forward in my own calling in Christ Jesus. Yes Lord...please do...Deliver Us From Jesus name I pray...amen. I recommend this book...yes I do. I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from CHOSEN Publishing through their book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review but how could I not, seeings as how this book was written in the Spirit of Excellence and delivers a message of TRUTH for God's people. Words written shall help to set the captives free and all in the name of JESUS. Amen.

Friday, June 13, 2014

Finding Spiritual Whitespace by Bonnie Gray

This book titled, “Finding Spiritual Whitespace” and written by Bonnie Gray has not just touched my heart it has changed my life. I so much wanted to hurry and get this book read so I could have my review written on time for the blog tour I signed up was not meant to be. I found I had to take my time as I read in order to receive the full affect the Lord was wanting me to have as I turned the pages. I had no idea what this book was really, truly about until I began to read and digest it's content. If I could I would say to the author, Bonnie Gray...I hear your heart. It is similar to my own. Bonnie were able to express in words...the things you have gone ways...I had not as yet seen. Such beauty in your expression of writing and in your words. As I went straight in. I wept many times as I turned the pages. In part because of what you yourself have part because of the parallel of my own sufferings as a child. How deep these wounds go and how long they last...they seem to become a part of us. The things the author shared about how her therapist helped her to deal with things that began to rise up...was so much the same as what the Lord recently took me through in my own personal journey. I connect with this author. I can relate to all she shares. Things she has gone through and is healing from bleed through her words in a cleansing sort of way. Reading this book has somehow made me feel understood and even though I have not met the author... I feel we have met. Reading this book for me has been a “God knows my heart, knows all I have been through. He understands it all even if I have no words to express the magnitude of it all or the impact that things have had on my life. He understands me. He “get's” me. Reading this book has caused me to feel...more healed...more whole...more content...more loved. This author is extremely gifted at writing. She has such a way with words. She also said the right words...those that I needed to hear. Bonnie are a beautiful woman on the inside and out. You have a beautiful spirit. God has blessed you. To say that I recommend this book is an understatement. I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Revell Publishing. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Persecuted I Will Not Be Silent by Robin Parrish Based On a Daniel Lusko Film

Persecuted by Robin Parrish is a fictional work which speaks on the subject of the persecution of Christians. It is based on a film by Daniel Lusko. John Luther had been falsely accused and then charged with a crime that he did not commit that of raping and murdering a young teenage girl. The plot thickens as John tries to figure out who was behind all of this and why. John struggles to bring the truth to the forefront and clear his reputation. All John wanted was a simple life of walking out his calling as an evangelist by sharing the Gospel and to enjoy a quiet and simple life with his family. I enjoyed reading this book and can imagine something like this happening in real life to Christians, however, it did not keep my attention very well. Some things seemed to far fetched to be believable. I am glad I read it though. I received this book for free from Bethany House publishing in exchange for a free book review through their book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Monday, May 26, 2014

The Fearless Life by Jentezen Franklin

An Excellent book written on fear and how to overcome it victoriously. Who of us has no fear? I believe that we can all relate to fear. I know personally that fear is an area where I need to overcome as fear has kept me, time and time again, back from going forth in the assignments I believe that God has given to me. As I began to read this book I prayed this prayer which Jentezen Franklin has presented in this book: “Heavenly Father, I want to give You my fears. I turn my whole life over to You. I want to live in faith. I believe; help my unbelief! Fill me with courage, and furnish me with faith. I need it. I want to walk in Your will.” (In Jesus name I pray, amen) Jentezen Franklin shares his testimonies throughout his book. He also gives sound, scriptural advice. This is not my first Jentezen Franklin book that I have read nor will it be my last. I love reading anything and everything that this man writes as I believe his words are inspired by the Holy Spirit and give to him to share with us all. I believe these writings are life changing if they are taken to heart and applied. I recommend this book! I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Charisma House Publishing through book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Living the Quaker Way by Philip Gulley

I was taken by surprise as I read through the words on the pages of this book. I really had no concept of what "Living The Quaker Way" meant. I had thoughts of the Amish for some reason or something along those lines. I have to say I honestly got a whole lot out of reading this book! Also, some of the things the author spoke about were things I believe the Lord was already having me lean towards. One of these things was living a simpler life. What I have already begun to do, living a simpler life, was confirmed and further explained to me in this book. Yet it is so much more then that. I love the writing style and heart of the author, Philip Gulley. I loved reading his testimonies he shares to get the point across. Loved reading about the things he wrote such as integrity, seeking truth, and especially equality which seems to be so much missing in our world today. I don't think you would be sorry for reading this but would feel the way that I do...that this is wholesome reading which can and should lead to a better way of living and better character. I recommend this book to you. I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Convergent publishing through the book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Bible Revival: Recommitting Ourselves To One Book by Kenneth Berding

The goal of this book I believe is to get people back to/begin to not just reading the Bible but also to applying it to our lives. There are many things which keeps us from doing this very thing and the author addresses those as well as giving ideas on how to overcome these obstacles and make time for being in the Word. At the end of each chapter are questions for review which are very thought provoking as well as convicting. Towards the end of this book is an appendix titled, “The Easiest Way to Memorize the Bible” What I learned from Dr. John Mitchell. This appendix has some good points in memorization of Scripture which I appreciated reading. This is the kind of literature I need to be reading to encourage me to be in and stay in the Word of God. I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from the publisher. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Knowing God By Name: Names Of God That Bring Hope And Healing by David Wilkerson

I was taught a whole lot as I read through this book. The learning began right away in the introduction of the book. The author, the late David Wilkerson (1931-2011) advises us as readers concerning the reading of this book and I quote, “As you read this book I urge you to get to know your heavenly Father slowly and purposefully, on a heart-to-heart level. You do not need to memorize all of the hallowed names in their Hebrew forms. For example, do not memorize God's name Jehovah Tsebaioth – simply learn that He is the Lord of Hosts. Get to know the English meanings of His names and remember them.” (end of quote) The author, David Wilkerson, was convinced that we as believers will be able to lead godly lives only by embracing the revelation of God's covenant names. This seems to be the purpose of his writing this book, to teach us all the importance of getting to know God better and to have a closer relationship with Him by getting to know His names and thus His character and nature. I believe that David Wilkerson's purpose in writing this book has clearly been accomplished! Prior to having read this book I have to honestly say that I didn't know or understand the importance of knowing God's names although I have used them during times of praise, worship and prayer. There were other points I could point out just from the introduction! This book is rich and full bodied. . The type of book you can't sit and read for hours on end but instead read it slowly and savor the words written, meditating upon all that has ministered to your spirit man. This book was written as a result of David Wilkerson's time in searching the Scriptures as illuminated by the Holy Spirit. That to me is pretty clear. David Wilkerson discovered that and I quote, “...God revealed His names to His people only as they needed them- in their moments of deepest crisis.” (end of quote) David Wilkerson used scripture throughout his book as a foundation of the truths which were presented. Just a few examples: “Our help is in the name of the LORD, who made heaven and earth. “ (Psalm 124:8) “Because he has known my name...I will deliver him.” (Psalm 91:15) “I found trouble and sorrow. Then called I upon the name of the Lord...I was brought low, and He helped me.” (Psalm 116:3-4,6) “Who is among you that feareth the LORD, that obeyeth the voice of his servant, that walketh in darkness, and hath no light? Let him trust in the name of the LORD, and stay upon his God.” (Isaiah 50:10) David Wilkerson does not go over every single name of God in this book which I was at first disappointed about. After reading the book I came to know that he did not need to go over every single name as he was teaching us the basics in a deep way. Having read this book I am left touched in the deepest part of me. This book was not just meat, bread and potatoes for the was also gravy. Rich and full. I totally recommend this book to you. This book is a re-write of the previously written book by David Wilkerson titled, “Hallowed Be Thy Names”. I have no problem reading previously written books as I feel it is the publisher's way of saying, “This one is so good and may have been overlooked. Let's present it again.” It is true in this case. This book is very good and you won't want to overlook it. Lord bless all of you readers! In Jesus name, amen. I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Chosen Publishing through their book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

The Spirit of Python by Jentezen Franklin

I first became aware of Jentezen Franklin while watching him on Christian t.v. It was at the beginning of the year, in January to be specific, and Jentezen was promoting fasting. As I am also a believer in fasting and living a fasted life, watching him share and teach on this subject was very encouraging. I believed at that time that this was what Jentezen's whole message/calling was on. I have also read two of Jentezen's books on fasting and believe it is a wonderful idea to keep a book on fasting by your side as you are practicing fasting. Now this book, The Spirit of Python.” Wow. As soon as I read the title I knew it was for me and that this was the right timing for me to read it. So I got it and I read it. I found this book to be easy to read and understand and HARD to put down. This book was written not just specifically for dealing with the spirit of python but for learning how to protect ourselves from all dealings from satan. You will learn the signs that the spirit of python is in action and what to do about it. You will learn how to create an atmosphere where the evil is not welcome so that in the future there will not be as much need for deliverance but it will be more of a maintaining. Jentezen talks about the power of prayer, faith, and praise and the armor of God in ways that will bring a refreshing to you in these areas. This book has helped me immensely. So much so that I have already bought two more of Jentezen Franklin's books. Reading this book is like adding a new weapon to your arsenal against satan and for the Kingdom of God! I have already been recommending this book to others and I recommend it to you. I received this book for free from Charisma House publishing in exchange for a free book review through the book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Between Heaven and Earth by Steve Berger

The author, Steve Berger, writes about how heaven became intensely personal to himself and his wife Sarah following the passing of their son Josiah. Josiah had died following a one-person car accident which they believe launched him into heaven. Steve writes about how that one moment in time when their son died forever changed them. This book was written extremely well and is Biblically sound. The topic? Heaven. Here is a list of the eleven chapters: 1. A Renewed Heavenly Vision 2. A Passion for Hard-Pressed Living 3. Heaven Is Our Real Home 4. Heaven Is Our Real Hope 5. A Glimpse of Heaven 6. What Will We Do in Heaven? 7. Heaven Is for Healing 8. Having Our Hands in the Harvest 9. The Power of Knowing God's Word 10. The Power of the Holy Spirit 11. The Rewards of Heaven Reading Steve's book, “Between Heaven and Earth” has changed some of my mind sets about how I ought to be living my life while here on the earth. The earth is but a temporal thing, but forever. Reading this book has also freed me up from constantly looking back to my past and life's past regrets knowing they really do not matter. What matters is where I am going and who I belong to...that being...Heaven...and Christ Jesus. I am encouraged having read this book especially in the light of the fact that I, myself, have lost loved ones and believe they too, have gone on to Heaven and are in the arms of our Lord. I recommend this book to you. I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Bethany House publishing through their book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

The Greatest Words Ever Spoken by Steven K. Scott

This is a red-letter edition of all the statements that Jesus has spoken. These statements of Jesus are categorized so you can easily find the topic you are wanting. This is a wonderful companion for your Bible to be used during your studies or else during your time of devotion. I have already used this book to look up a few different topics but am thinking this would really be good to use as a steady devotional and read day by day to learn what Jesus says on a variety of topics. The only thing negative I have to say about it is the front cover. It is thinner then most paperbacks and on my copy the front cover is already bent up. Having said that, I like it and recommend it. I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from the WaterBrook Press publishing through the book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Sunday, March 23, 2014

The Making of a Prophet by Jennifer LeClaire

I am so blessed that it was this book I chose to order. I was talking online to another prophet and he had shared how this book described him to a “T.” I was like...HEY I just ordered that SAME BOOK! So felt this was a confirmation to me from the Lord that I was to read this book in this season. Actually, it would have been so NICE to have had this much sooner! It would have helped me in the things I have had to walk in previously but am hoping it will help me move forward in my calling as a prophetess. The author, Jennifer LeClaire, gives sound, practical and biblical advice for developing your prophetic voice. She goes on with one chapter after another teaching things to beware of and how to deal with certain things that prophets deal with. She can only know these things by having walked them herself and by Holy Spirit directing her as to what to write in order to help us all. Just a few of the topics addressed: “Silencing the Voice of Rejection” “Overcoming Fear of Man” “Shunning Control and Manipulation” “How to avoid Spiritual Deception” “When Your Pastor Persecutes You” “Checking Your Motives” Those are just a hand full of topics listed directed to those who are called to the prophetic. I can see that this is one of those books that I will be referring back to time and time again as I cannot take it all in at one time. This book has been very insightful and helps me to understand why I go through the things that I do. God bless you Jennifer LeClaire for having the courage and boldness to write this! Thank you! I wholly recommend this to those who are called to the prophetic and to others who are wanting to understand those called to the prophetic. I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Chosen Publishing through their book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Holy Fire by R.T. Kendall

I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Charisma House publishing through the book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.
This book by R.T. Kendall is written on the topic of the HOLY SPIRIT. God's Spirit. The author speaks about the different belief systems and their view of the Holy Spirit's work in our current lives as well as how he, the author, used to believe up until he had his own experiences with the Holy Spirit which caused his thinking to then change. This is a “Balanced and Biblical look at the Holy Spirit's work in our lives.” I liked it because it is also the same way I believe in that Jesus is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow and that the gifts of the Holy Spirit did not end as the cessationists believe they did. The author make things clear as to the works of the Holy Spirit in our lives. He uses sound biblical teachings which expounds on the understanding of the Word of God. He also shares about other books He has written of which there has been quite a few. He talks about the Spirit and the Word together and how the Holy Spirit leads us in two ways, directly and indirectly. He shares on the different types of fire. Many quotes are used which I tend to love. I am glad I got this book and glad I read it as it has further grounded me biblically in my own beliefs as to the Holy Spirit and the spiritual gifts of the Holy Spirit. I recommend this book to you.

Monday, February 17, 2014

Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World DVD study pack by Joanna Weaver

This review is for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World DVD study pack. I initally felt led by God to request this set following a woman wanting us to get together to study the bible. We had no leader to guide us and were just going to “wing it.” The bible study idea fell through but I am still glad I ordered and received this set. I have to tell you that I also ordered 2 of the hardcover copies of her Jan. 2nd, 2007 copies as well as her 2004 book on CD. I began listening to the book on CD first as downloaded it onto my MP3 player and took it to work with me. (cleaning business) I am sure that probably most of us women could relate to being more like Martha, the one who was work, work, work...but our hearts are wanting to be more like Mary...the one who spent time with Jesus and washed His feet with her tears and anointed Him with costly perfume. This book will show you the value of taking the time out for the Lord and discuss ways that we can do this in our very busy lives as wives, mothers, grandmothers, sisters, co-workers and friends. Quoting a section in the book, “I discovered what it meant to have a Mary heart toward God. Suddenly my eyes were open to what true devotion is. It is not a duty. It is a delight. It is not an exercise in piety. It is a privilege. And it is not so much a visit as it is a home-coming.” (end of quote) “ So many times in my life I have often wanted to go back in go back home. I have come to realize that my true “home” is with the Lord and that if I want to go back “home” then I need to get back to my intimate times with Him and there I will find it..I will find HIM. There is no place like home! The DVD would be perfect to watch before discussing with a group. I am going to hang onto this material and wait on the Lord for who to share it with. Meanwhile will continue to reach for it to encourage me to keep taking time out for those intimate times with our Lord. This book is a more conservative in nature then what I prefer but I think it would be excellent for those new to the idea of intimacy with our Lord and for reminding those who have fallen away from such practices. I receive this book for free in exchange for a free book review from the WaterBrook Press publishing through the book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review. 11/19/14 UPDATE Since writing this book review I have begun a women's ministry group. This book is the material the Lord dropped in my lap basically to use to begin it. The women have LOVED the materials presented in this study as well as the worksheets I printed out from the author's website. I have gone on to order the next two books and have printed out the worksheets that go along with these studies. I have also MET THE AUTHOR personally while in attendance at a women's retreat (Called2 Conference in Kearney, Nebraska) and I will tell you that she is the "real deal." I whole heartedly recommend doing her materials for your women's group! We have all loved her materials from the new believer to the seasoned believer. Lord bless you!!!

The Pleasure of His Company by Dutch Sheets

The Pleasure Of His Company by Dutch Sheets is a powerful book that can also be used as a devotional. It is a smaller book and hardcover which is my favorite type. I also LOVE the front and back cover and the title fit the hidden treasure inside. I chose to use it as a devotional and am glad that I did. I was so touched by the Lord due to what I read that I was left in tears and in the presence of our Lord at the end of every single chapter. I like the sincere and being real style the author writes in. This is the type of person I would want to have for a close friend. He writes from his heart and from GOD'S heart. The goal of this book is to draw you into a closer, more intimate, friendship with GOD. Reading this book has done this for me. In the past I have read one other book by Dutch Sheets and it was good as well. I fully intend to gather together more of his writings after reading this one. If I had one thing I would change about this book it would be to add a ribbon to mark the pages. That seems to be missing. A beautiful book, beautifully written! The fragrance of the Lord all over doubt it is highly anointed. I love it and will keep it by my bedside. Now that I know I plan to keep it instead of giving it away will be free to highlight all the places where the Lord spoke to me personally. I would rate this one higher stars if I could!!!! Keep writing man of God Dutch Sheets!!!! God bless you readers!!! I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Bethany House publishing through their book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Thursday, January 30, 2014

The Judas Goat by Perry Stone

This is my first time reading any of Perry Stone's material and I must say that I quite impressed! Perry Stone seems to have a gift for Bible teaching and sharing it in a way that is easy to digest! This particular book is about "How to deal with false friendships, betrayals, and the temptation not to forgive." When you first begin to read the introduction of this book you will be referred to Chapter 4 "Who is Sitting in Your Third Chair." Reading this chapter helped me to understand what Perry was referring to when he mentioned first, second or third chair persons. He shares that people in our lives will fit on one of three places and how to be careful not to allow people in where they do not belong. He gives a perfect example through an experience his wife went through to help you understand better. Perry shares testimonies his father experienced in the ministry regarding "Judas Goats" within his congregations. On the back cover Perry writes, "A Judas goat is an actual goat that is raised with the sheep in the field--eating with them, sleeping with them, and generally gaining their trust. When the time comes to lead the sheep into the slaughterhouse, the sheep will follow the Judas goat into specially marked pens, the back of trucks, and in some instances into the slaughterhouse itself. The Judas Goat makes a strong correlation between this goal and the people in your life who are operating with ulterior motives, helping you understand." This book gave me a warning or a heads up to the possibility of this happening for future ministry but also gave me an understanding of what has already taken place in what I thought was a true friendship from my past. I was also convicted personally. This book was written with excellence and true anointing of our Lord! I recommend this book to you! Especially for those in the ministry. I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Charisma House publishing through the book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

All Heaven Will Break Loose by Joy Dawson

The first thing I would like to tell you about is the front and back cover of this book. It is strikingly beautiful in a simple and yet profound way and reflects the beauty of the words written inside of the book as well. It hit me again and again as I read this book how much the cover "fit" what was inside. I had not heard of this author before and am so glad I decided to give her writings a whirl. There is a depth and perception contained in her words that I feel could only come from our Lord. Joy is not a novice and the wisdom of her life experiences bleeds through her words. It touched me that she dedicated this book to her son who is also involved in the ministry. Joy also mentions her late husband, Jim, who she says released her to prioritize her time in the project of writing this book meaning he would have to take on a heavier load in other areas and all the while not complaining. Jim passed away before the book was published and I imagine the pain of his loss went into the writing of this book. If I were to tell you what the main jest of this book is I would say it would be about UNITY and FORGIVENESS. The author shares brilliant ways in which unity and forgiveness can be achieved. Some I have already tried and I can tell you it has worked for me. Something she suggests is, " We need to ask God to give us His supernatural ability to love and forgive everyone who has wronged us, and then receive it by faith." Joy offers practical ways of getting free and keeping free from all resentment. Who of us could not use such advice? Not me. I know I need this and will implement her ideas further. I like how Joy shares a nugget about what the upcoming chapter or even paragraph holds which alerts as to what to pay attention to. For example: "The next chapter illustrates the greatest team work in dynamic action that I have found anywhere in the Bible." Strong points she has made is that we are not meant to be so independent of one another and I quote," one is meant to have it all. God evenly distributes it out to others so that we may be interdependent on Him through one another." This makes a whole lot of sense to me. I cannot even begin to tell you all that this book holds for if I were to do so it would spoil your joy in reading it for yourself. I have meditated upon much that I have read and highlighted it all over the place. I intend to keep this copy for my own personal library to refer back to. I recommend this book highly! I received this book for free in exchange for a free book review from Chosen Publishing through their book review program. I was not required to write a favorable review.

Saturday, January 4, 2014

When Will The Heaven Begin? by Ally Breedlove

I came across this book while straightening shelves in the library where I work. It grabbed a hold of my attention and went home with me that night. Once I got started reading this book I could not put it down! The words written and the story told in this book spoke to me so clearly and so personally it was as if the Lord Himself had tossed this book onto my lap and said, "Here, read this!" It is quite the story. A story of a young man who fought the good fight of faith and won victoriously! A story of a young man who had a special assignment for his life which was fulfilled.'s a whole lot more then that. The author is an excellent writer...and easy to read. I was quite shocked for such a young person to be such a good writer and I've no doubt that there will come further titles flowing from her pen. I can't help but think that part of the reason for Ben's life and death and all of the in between was to launch Alley out into writing. God works like that! I loved reading everything in this book. I feel close to the family and close to Ben and know that one day in heaven we will all meet. This book is for everyone! Reading it has changed my life and caused me to re-think my priorities. I will never be the same again. I wholly recommend you read this one as well and also do know that Ben Breedlove has his story on youtube so you may want to give that a look as well. Lord bless!!!